Wiki CPC-A Seeking Remote Coding/Billing Position

cmsalerno

New
Best answers
Hi, my name is Carolyn. I received my CPC-A certificate in December 2021. I have been searching for an entry-level remote coding/billing position with no luck. Companies seem to want experience which I do not have (new to healthcare field). My background is in accounting. I would like to get my foot in the door so I am open to anything (part-time; full-time; intern). If anyone has or knows of any opportunities I would appreciate it. Any insight is also welcomed. I am more than happy to send anyone my resume as well if they would like it. My email address is carolyn.salerno@gmail.com. Thank you in advance!

Reading all of the posts about how difficult to find a position as an entry level coder is very discouraging after spending so much money and time studying, the CPC-A certificate isn't worth anything if someone isn't willing to hire you. I just got my CPC-A 01/22 and I was so excited now I am wondering if this was all worth it.

Reading all of the posts about how difficult to find a position as an entry level coder is very discouraging after spending so much money and time studying, the CPC-A certificate isn't worth anything if someone isn't willing to hire you. I just got my CPC-A 01/22 and I was so excited now I am wondering if this was all worth it.
I understand exactly how your feeling, I am starting to feel the same way. From my reading in the discussions if you have the time to volunteer to work as a coder it will also give you experience you need. I just do not think that after paying for this course that we should have to work for free, I know I cannot afford to work for free. I think that I will be doing some investigating in regards to AAPC and the CPC and CPB certifications because this is unfair to us.