Wiki Crisis Center Coding & Billing

krxan

Best answers
Our crisis center is adjacent to the hospital emergency department. After the ED doctor examines a patient he/she feels is in crisis and in need of immediate psychiatric care, the patient is referred to our psychiatrist at the crisis center.

Prior to being examined by the psychiatrist, the patient is seen by the clinical social worker. Can the clinical social worker's bill be submitted and paid by Medicare and/or private insurances? If so, what codes would you use?

Thanks. I'm new to behavioral health and appreciate your help.

Just so that I am clear, is the place of service outpatient or inpatient on the social worker?

They can bill outpatient services, but can not bill inpatient. What does the SW do before the MD sees them?

The way I am understanding this is your crisis center is outpatient and basically functions like a clinic. If that is the case, your social worker may see patients before the psychiatrist. They are 2 different disciplines so it should not be an issue. The SW can bill the new patient eval 90801 or 90802, they can bill regular psychotherapy codes (90804,6,10,12 etc) and they can bill the group therapy codes. The thing is if SW bills therapy codes, then the psychiatrist can not. He would have to be doing med management or bill EM's.
I would suggest you read this policy and see if this helps:
http://www.wpsmedicare.com/part_b/policy/psych014.pdf

http://www.wpsmedicare.com/part_b/policy/psych013.pdf

http://www.wpsmedicare.com/part_b/policy/psych009.pdf

This is from WPS Medicare (I am in WI) If you are not with WPS, it may be different but this may help give you some idea.

I spoke with the Licensed Certified Social Worker yesterday to get the details. I was told the LCSW performs a diagnostic evaluation. This includes a psychiatric evaluation and a traditional mental health status exam.
The LCSW consults with the psychiatrist and presents all data.