Wiki Cystectomy with excision and removal of the cyst in toto.. help please

rockylopez

Networker
Best answers
Hello :) I am new to this and I am hoping someone can give me any input. Physician performed a Cystectomy with excision and removal of the cyst. Upon researching this may apply to an unlisted cpt code 51999 or possibly CPT code 51555. Any input is appreciated.

OPERATIVE NOTE - Intraoperative Consultation

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES: Paraovarian cyst

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES: Same as above

NAME OF PROCEDURE: Cystectomy with excision and removal of the cyst in toto

FINDINGS: Large approximately 10 cm paraovarian cyst of the right ovary. The right fallopian tube was tortuous and stretched over the full length of the paraovarian cyst, it appeared grossly distorted with multiple areas of pressure atrophy; Normal uterus; Normal right ovary with small cyst; Normal left fallopian tube and ovary.

COMPLICATIONS: None.

DRAINS: Foley catheter.

SPECIMENS: Right paraovarian cyst wall; cyst fluid sent for cytology

DVT PROPHYLAXIS: SCDs in place and the onset of the case

INDICATIONS FOR PROCEDURE: female with acute appendicitis who was undergoing appendectomy when she was found to have a large right paraovarian cyst.

DESCRIPTION OF PROCEDURE: The patient was under general anesthesia and had undergone appendectomy, when I was consulted regarding a large right paraovarian cyst. Informed consent for the removal of the paraovarian cyst was obtained from the patient's mother.