Wiki Facet injections

jessica9902

Best answers
I am new to pain management so forgive me if this is a dumb question! :)

I am receiving denials (from Medicare) for my additional level codes on bilateral injections. Can anyone give me an example of exactly how I should bill procedures 64470 and 64472 when there was a total of 4 bilateral injections done?

Thanks in advance!!
Jessica

facet injections

how many levels were injected? facet joint injection codes are unilateral, you can append bilateral modifier 50 when they are injected on both sides at the same level. if you're coding just two levels, it would be coded as: 64470-50 and 64472-50. an example of one level would be L3-L4. I hope this helps.

Leah

Do you work at an ASC??? ASC billing for MCR::::Bilateral is 644770 LTRT, 64472 LTRT59.
Hope this helps

Just be sure you are not using LT and RT on the same line item, LT and RT are anatomic modifiers and you may assign only one anatomic modifier per line item. so it should look like this:
64470 LT
64470 RT
64472 LT
64472 RT
There is no need for a 59 modifier as the 64472 is an add on code.. also you could bill it as:
64470 50
64472 50
the difference is really which payer you are billing.

I also do billing for an ASC and for Medicare only, if you don't put the 59 modifier even though the 64472 is an add on code, it will get denied...it shouldn't be necessary but that is the way Medicare process their claims. I have tried it before and I always end up doing Medicare Reviews having to add the 59 modifier and that is how they pay it.

hope this helps!

The way I was told to bill them is:

64470-50
64472-50x3

I am billing for the physician, not the ASC. Medicare denies the 64472-50x3 as invalid beginning/end dates and/or units of service, but I've been told that breaking them up such as

64470-50
64472-50
64472-50
64472-50

will only get the last two add ons denied. Do I need to add the -59 modifier to both of those lines then?