Wiki FESS coding

nan.coder

Networker
Best answers
Good afternoon all. I'm still new to ENT and struggling with FESS coding.

Procedures performed: 1) Nasal endoscopy with frontal sinusotomy and tissue removal 2) Nasal endoscopy with total ethmoidectomy 3) nasal endoscopy with sphenoidotomy with tissue removal 4) nasal endoscopy with maxillary antrostomy and tissue removal 5) nasal endoscopy with polypectomy.

I'm pretty sure of CPT 31267 - nasal scope with maxillary antrostomy with tissue removal and 31253 - nasal scope with total ethmoidectomy , including frontal sinus exploration with removal of tissue.

What I'm not sure of is which of these code are more appropriate for this case.
1) CPT 31259 - nasal scope with total ethmoidectomy including spenoidotomy with tissue removal.
2) CPT 31288 - nasal scope with spenoidotomy with removal of tissue.

I'm leaning toward 31288 because total ethmoidectomy RVUs already captured with CPT 31253.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Nancy Boyle, CPC, CRC
Sound Health Services/Gateway Division
nboyle@soundhealthservices.com

Good afternoon all. I'm still new to ENT and struggling with FESS coding.

Procedures performed: 1) Nasal endoscopy with frontal sinusotomy and tissue removal 2) Nasal endoscopy with total ethmoidectomy 3) nasal endoscopy with sphenoidotomy with tissue removal 4) nasal endoscopy with maxillary antrostomy and tissue removal 5) nasal endoscopy with polypectomy.

I'm pretty sure of CPT 31267 - nasal scope with maxillary antrostomy with tissue removal and 31253 - nasal scope with total ethmoidectomy , including frontal sinus exploration with removal of tissue.

What I'm not sure of is which of these code are more appropriate for this case.
1) CPT 31259 - nasal scope with total ethmoidectomy including spenoidotomy with tissue removal.
2) CPT 31288 - nasal scope with spenoidotomy with removal of tissue.

I'm leaning toward 31288 because total ethmoidectomy RVUs already captured with CPT 31253.