Wiki HCC/RAF

stephmescher

Networker
Best answers
Hello,
I am really new at the HCC coding and I was wondering if someone could help me out with finding the weight that goes along with the HCC diagnosis code to calculate the RAF score? Example- DM with retinopathy- .123. Is there a table with these numbers listed that I am just overlooking? I have the 2020 HCC model downloaded but that is not giving me the numbers I need. Do I need to calculate these numbers somehow?
Hope this makes sense. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Steph

I am a new coder and I was wondering when doing HCC coding where do you look to pull codes from

Our practice is very conservative. We do not pull from the past medical history or the problem list. The provider must document it in the MDM portion and incorporate why/how it's pertinent to that days visit and meet some level of the MEAT or TEMPAR.

I have worked at other places that will allow you to pull from anywhere in the note.

I would recommend creating a policy within your practice on how you would like to approach it.

I think specialty also matters. We work at a Pain Management clinic and there are times that the provider is only treating the patient's knee pain, or back pain and he may not think that the patient's foot ulcer is pertinent to what he is treating.

As long as they (the provider) not the MA documents it, we bill for it. Again, it's practice specific.