Wiki HELP PLEASE!

dsibley67

Contributor
Best answers
I am not good at coding podiatry but I try. I am really confused on this one. If, someone could please help me code this it would be greatly appreciated. He sent over CPT code 28299, but I kind of leaning toward 28289 & 28308.
Is this correct and if not why? So, that I will know next time when I have another one like this. Thanks in advance for your help!

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES: 1. Hallux abductovalgus, left foot.
2. Dorsal spur second metatarsal, left foot.
3. Tailor's bunion, left foot.
PROCEDURES PERFORMED: 1. Correction of hallux valgus.
2. Cheilectomy second metatarsal joint, left
foot.
3. Tailor's bunionectomy
The patient was identified and placed on the treatment table in the supine
position. Following general endotracheal intubation, the left foot was scrubbed, prepped and draped in
usual aseptic manner. Attention was directed to the first metatarsophalangeal joint of the left foot where a
linear incision was placed medial and parallel to the EHL tendon. Dissection was carried down on the
capsular attachment of the periosteal layer and joint. A linear periosteal incision was made exposing the
operative field to the joint. The dorsomedial eminence was resected with sagittal bone saw. An
osteotomy was completed in the medial aspect of the first metatarsal head. The apex pointing distally.
The arms put in proximal plantar and proximal dorsally. Capital fragment was distracted, moved more
lateral in the corrected anatomic alignment and impacted upon the first metatarsal shaft. 2x 2.5
cannulated bone screws were inserted from dorsal to plantar with excellent compression noted from
Medline with the screws. Irrigated with normal sterile saline. The remaining medial bone shelf was
resected without complication. The medial capsule was then closed with 2-0 Vicryl, subcutaneous tissue
with 3-0 Vicryl and skin closed with 4-0 nylon. Attention was directed to the second MTP where a linear