Wiki Help with Coding Substance Abuse ICD-10 CM

ryaryeet

Best answers
Hello All,

I am a coder in training, and I have been having a hard time wrapping my head around the F-codes. I am struggling a lot with F10-F19, specifically when to use F1_.10 (___ abuse/dependence/use, "uncomplicated") vs F1_._88 (___ abuse/dependence/use with other ___-induced disorder). My difficulties revolve around coding physiological disorders with the substance abuse codes when the tabular section says to for example, "Use additional code to identify: alcohol abuse and dependence (F10.-)".

For example, a patient has alcoholic cirrhosis of the liver (without ascites) due to alcohol dependence. My novice coding mind is thinking the liver damage would be K70.30 and the alcohol dependence is F10.288 (alcohol dependence with other alcohol induced disorders). There has been discussion in my class as to whether the correct alcohol dependence code should be F10.20 (alcohol dependence, uncomplicated). I think the confusion stems from the codes other than F10.20 in the F10.2- subcategory, seem to focus on psychological/neurological disorders. Then F10.20 would be appropriate for physiological disorders stemming from alcohol dependence.

If any coders who have had experience with a situation like this could weigh in, I would greatly appreciate the assistance. I am referencing the ICD-10 CM 2020 by AAPC. (pgs 543-544, 734)

p.s. Please do not hesitate (be blunt with me) to give me direction. Thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi! My take on this one based on the ICD-10-CM guidelines and conventions in the tabular is that you would code the K70.30 for the alcoholic cirrhosis without ascites and the F10.20 for alcohol dependence, uncomplicated. Couple of reasons I would go in this direction: