Wiki Help with iv's

justcode

Best answers
Hello. Im new at charge coding for er and i need help.

Pt came in to er with
final dx:

Acute vomiting
acute dehydration

pt was given:

Sodium chloride iv
start:2110 stop:2142

zofran 4mg/2ml inj iv
start: 2110 stop: 2111
zofran 4mg/2ml inj iv
start: 2317 stop: ?

I was told to code it as 96374, 96376, 96361. Is this correct?

thanks sal. but i have one more question. why do i have to code 96361 when the sodium chloride and the zofran started at 2110. since zofran is a push and it was given at the same time as the sodium chloride doesnt that cancel the sodium chloride?

i hope i'm not confusing you..coz i am :D

Thanks again for taking the time to reply..

I see what you are saying.

if patient had an IV just to keep line open then I wouldnt code 96361
your patient had

vomiting & dehydration
zofran for vomiting and hydration for dehydration.

this is how I see it. i would like to see what others think.

the IV Push does negate the IV hydration but the IV push stopped at 2111 and the IV sodium cloride ran uninterruped from 2111 to 2142 which is 31 minutes so you meet the criteria to bill the hydration,
I hope that is of assistance to you

Hello. Im new at charge coding for er and i need help.

Pt came in to er with
final dx:

Acute vomiting
acute dehydration

pt was given:

Sodium chloride iv
start:2110 stop:2142

zofran 4mg/2ml inj iv
start: 2110 stop: 2111
zofran 4mg/2ml inj iv
start: 2317 stop: ?

I was told to code it as 96374, 96376, 96361. Is this correct?

I guess it should be 96360 instead of 96361, beause the sodium chloride IV is for 32 minutes which is below 1 hour so the correct code is 96360. 96361 is for each additional hour and more over itis a add-on code and cannot be billed as stand alone code.

@naveen..no you can't code 96360 because you can't have 2 initials

anyone else have a take on this?