Wiki Hemiarthroplasty Help

tatumroe

Networker
Best answers
I am new to orthopedic billing and I am afraid that I may have been coding the hip hemiarthroplasty procedures incorrectly and I am seeking help and advice. I was using code 27125 since the description of that code is hemiarthroplasty, hip, partial. For total hip replacements I am using 27130. I am worried now that for the hemiarthroplasty I should be using code 27236? Can someone offer guidance on the differences in the operative technique that would help me to determine which code is correct? Below is one of my examples. Thank you in advance for any help!

Preoperative Diagnosis
Right displaced femoral neck fracture.
Postoperative Diagnosis
Right displaced femoral neck fracture.
Operation
Right hip hemiarthroplasty. Physician directed fluoroscopy less than 1 hr.
Findings
Intraoperatively patient was found to have a comminuted displaced right femoral neck fracture. There was slight posterior comminution of the femoral neck noted. There was no obvious propagation into the femoral calcar. No obvious bony lesions noted.

Technique
The patient was seen in the preoperative holding area, the right hip was marked, and consent was obtained. All questions were answered to their satisfaction preoperatively. The patient was transferred to the operative suite and given the benefit of general anesthesia by the anesthesia team. They were then transferred to the operative bed where well-padded boots were applied and properly secured to the bed with all bony prominences well padded. They were appropriately placed against the perineal post. The right lower extremity was then prepped and draped in a normal sterile fashion. A time-out was performed all those in attendance were in agreement with the correct operative site and procedure to be performed.