Wiki ICD-10 Training and Assessment Fees

Best answers
So I go into debt to get an "associates degree" in order to obtain my CPC and CPC-H certifications. I gave up a job at a local hospital to complete my "degree" in 2011 as they would not allow me to utilize my skills there to count toward my externship, and my school (aware that I was employed as a billing collector, advised me my collections job could be utilized to complete my externship) would not waive the externship. I have 15+ years in the health insurance industry, so I am not new to the use of CPT or diagnosis codes, however, I have had no luck in obtaining a job as a coder or a biller. I have been working various temporary/contract positions since I graduated and I continue to attempt to obtain employment to utilize my coding skill set. I continue to pay fees I cannot afford to maintain my membership. Now I'm expected to pay $395 - $595 for ICD-!0 training, in addition to $60 for the assessment, IN ADDITION to my membership fees?

As an additional slap in the face, many employers prefer, if not REQUIRE you to have AHIMA credentials.

Not sure this was or is worth it.

I believe you have misinterpreted the announcement of updated assessment options for ICD-10. As the email indicated, members have concern about the requirement to complete a timed ICD-10 assessment, and because of that, AAPC is offering additional ways to show proficiency. You do not have to do anything above and beyond taking the timed assessment at $60. This was initially the only option. Below are the additional ways to obtain training, if you choose to:

• ICD-10-CM Online Assessment Course Only - Prepare with a 16-hour online course, which includes complete ICD-10-CM code set training for a total of 16 CEUs. The course contains multimedia presentations, an instructional manual, and evaluation quizzes to demonstrate proficiency.