Wiki Medical assistant wants to become a coder

Dee1973

Best answers
I have a diploma in medical assisting but I like coding because I can focus on one thing. As a medical assistant, you pretty much know a little about everything in the office. I want a career that is more concrete. In 2007 I tried going to LPN school but hated it. Nursing is not my field. Then in 2008 I had my first child and have been a stay-at-home mom ever since. I feel that since I've had a lapse in work history and have only been a medical assistant for one year, then nobody will hire me. Despite being a good worker, employers just want a steady employment history. It's like that's all they look at on your resume.The longest time I've been employed somewhere was 6 years. I've either been in college or at home with my kids. You can be the laziest worker and work somewhere for decades in my opinion. I know people like that. LOL ANYWAY....I want to get my coding certification. I want a career. Are hours flexible with coding jobs ??? Are there a lot of second shift jobs ? How do I convince the interviewer that I'm excited about a new career ? I'm 38 and maybe I'll be facing some job discrimination too. Maybe I'll have to be a medical assistant again in order to get my foot in the door.

Medical Assistant wanting to be cpc

Since you have some exp as a medical assistant you are familiar with cpt codes. I would start studying to take cpc certification to prepare to sit for the exam. I recently starting studying to sit for the exam in december. I have been billing medical claims for a Durable Medical Equipment Co. for 7 years. so it's a little bit chanllenging for me to get certified i really have to study to get familiar with the cpt codes. I bill with HCPC Code, but i'm determine to get my certification. I know hospital's have second shift for coders you just have to decide, which certification u want. Good Luck with your future endevors!!!

Last edited: