• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ & read the forum rules. To view all forums, post or create a new thread, you must be an AAPC Member. If you are a member and have already registered for member area and forum access, you can log in by clicking here. If you've forgotten your username or password use our password reminder tool. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below..
  • Important Note: We will be performing a scheduled maintenance on 1st November 2020. The site will be offline from 7:30PM (MT) till midnight. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Medicare Well woman diagnosis confusion

jdibble

True Blue
Best answers
Good afternoon all! I am currently new to OB/GYN and am working auditing notes for Medicare well woman visits. I am confused on the diagnosis codes and cpt codes and was hoping someone could help me! :D

I think I understand that if the patient comes in for a pelvic and breast exam I would code G0101. If they have a PAP I can also code Q0091. In this case the dx would be V76.2 or V72.31? Now, I have a patient who came if for her well woman exam, the doctor did a complete exam, including a complete Pelvic exam, however did not do a PAP. He is billing th G0101 and dx V76.2. Isn't V76.2 the diagnosis for when a PAP is done? Should he be using V72.31 instead - which says with or without pap? Also, should he be billing an exam code too - 99397? Or he doesn't need to?

If someone could help me with the correct process of coding these visits for all scenarios I would be greatful - I have to go back to these doctors and tell them if the coded these visits correctly and tell them the correct way and I have myself too confused to at this point to do that! :eek:

Thanks,

Last edited:

roeslerje

Networker
Best answers