Wiki Modifiers and base units

KDMarshall

Networker
Best answers
I am new to anesthesia billing and I keep reading about how you should be adding the BVU, the time then multiplying by the conversion factor. What is the conversion factor and how do I find it? The Dr is in Texas. It also states to add all of that and the qualifying circumstances together. When reporting the units am I correct with this example.
Say a cpt code 00000 is 5 Base units with a time of 3 units. That makes it 8 correct? So I bill 8 units on the claim? When it has modifiers for qualifying circumstances do they have base units I need to add in as well or do I just put the modifier and the insurance calculates it correctly.

I know it is multiple questions I am sorry my boss kind of just dropped this all on me :)

Modifiers & base units

Warning you now - this is a LONG email!

As you've figured out, each procedure is given a "base value". These are the base units.

Time is also valued as "units". Time is frequently measured as 15 minutes per unit, although there are some payers out there that value time differently. Watch the contracts or payer websites for this.

Physical status modifiers may also add 1-3 units. These are the P1-P5 modifiers. Some payers pay extra, some do not. This information will be in the contracts if you're par & if you're lucky, on the payers' websites.

Lastly, some "Qualifying Circumstances" add units, but these are generally how the codes themselves are valued. See 99100 through 99140. These are generally billed out as flat-fee in terms of how many "units" they are worth. Again, different payers pay these differently - if at all!