Wiki Modifiers used with E/M visit

nsclark2

Best answers
I am asking for everyone's opinion since I am new to the coding world. We have been having problems with insurance companies paying both an office visit and a procedure (ex. 69210 or 31231). This happens most often on established visits, which is understandable. However, we have been using modifier 25 on the office visit in addition to the 69210 or 31231, etc. for all kinds of visits (new, established, consult). Is modifier 25 the correct modifier to be using or like a modifier 51 or 59 on the procedure 69210 or 31231.
The office is now just billing for the procedure when it comes to an established, but shouldn't the docs get something on a new or consult as far as the office visit and procedure? :confused:
HELP! Thanks!

Mod 25

First, is the established patient visit scheduled specifically for the procedure?
The RVUs for all procedures include appropriate E/M.

However, if the E/M is truly a separately identifiable service ...
If the procedure has a 90-day global you need a -57 modifier on the E/M code. If the procedure has a 10 day or less global period you need a -25 modifier. (I'm at home and don't have all my reference materials, so I don't know if the procedures you cite are major or minor.)

It is pretty much the usual practice for payers to deny the E/M code. I appeal with a letter and the documentation ... that's why you need to be certain that your E/M was truly "significant and separately identifiable."

F Tessa Bartels, CPC, CEMC

modifers with E/M

Look at your linking of the dx. With 69210 why did the pt come in, ear pain? , link that to your E/M physican has to examin to determine ear impaction.
Then link impacted cerumen dx to the 69210. Remember to add your modifer 25 to E/M. If your insurance still denies , and your physican documents well, I would appeal the charges.