Wiki Mohs, repairs, multiple code combo denials

MichaelGA

Best answers
I'm new to Derm and I'm coming across a lot of denial issues. Examples below. Feedback appreciated!

13132-59 Claim paid
11200 Charge denied
Shouldn't both claims pay seeing that the 59 was added for the NCCI edit?

17311-79
17311-79-59 (BSC left mid-jawline and BSC left lateral jawline//2 separate dx codes)
14301-79
14302-79
Should 2 units of 17311 be billed instead of separate line items? 14302 and 17312 are the only charges that paid. How can the add-on be paid and not the parent code? This is GA Medicare.

21235 billed with 14061. Graft pays, flap denied.

In the first case, 11200 may have been denied because it is not a covered service, and they mistakenly allowed the repair because their computer did not recognize the fact that the repair was of a non-covered procedure. (By the way, are you sure that a complex repair really was performed? For a skin tag removal??? That doesn't sound right!)

In the second case, the second Mohs should have modifier 76, not 59. Other than that, it all should have paid (assuming medical necessity was met), so you'll have to ask the payer why they denied.

In the third case, if the graft was from skin that is not attached to the flap, they should both be payable. You may need to appeal with records.

For the first one, depending on what other codes are being billed, the modifier 59 is appropriately appended to the closure to override the NCCI edit on that 11200-13132 edit pair. Was there another surgical code billed that coincides with the closure?