Wiki Need Experienced Advice

jperkins

Networker
Best answers
An interventional cardiologist wants to know why he cannot charge a H&P the same day as a procedure - he wants to see the actual written "rule" on this. I am not experienced enough to answer his question satisfactorily and I have exhausted my resources trying to find this "rule" in writing somewhere - can anyone help me?

An interventional cardiologist wants to know why he cannot charge a H&P the same day as a procedure - he wants to see the actual written "rule" on this. I am not experienced enough to answer his question satisfactorily and I have exhausted my resources trying to find this "rule" in writing somewhere - can anyone help me?

This would depend on the case and whether or not you can bill the H&P. Here's a few examples that I come across with my doctors:

If the pt is in the hosp and they are having an Acute MI and they are still in the ER, usually a Cardiologist is called in to see the pt, from my end, my docs are usually the admitting doctor, so therefor, you can bill the H&P, you would add a 25 mod to the H&P visit if a procedure like a cath is performed.

Now if they are seen in office and the test is ordered at an office visit for a few days away, you can not bill for the H&P again the day of, unless something other than what the pt was being seen for at the hosp occurs and that changes the pt's status. I don't usually see this happen though, even though it can.

Hope that helps :)

If your interventional radiologist is actually the one making the decision to perform the procedure, then maybe he could bill the H&P. I do not see this often though. Usually what I see is a cardiologist or vascular surgeon decides the patient needs an interventional procedure and sends the patient to the radiologist. The radiologist then does a BRIEF review with the patient before performing the procedure. This brief review is included in the work value of the procedure itself.