Wiki New Anesthesia Coder...needs Help..

mad_one80

Best answers
Hi all!
I'm new to anesthesia coding and was wondering what the "guidelines" are...for example, if i had codes: 00103, 00300 and 00402 all performed from 1:45pm until 9:45 pm...do i bill all those 3 codes or do i only post bill for the highest paying level of code(00103)? :confused:
it's one anesthesiologist, injecting for different procedures performed at the same time/session on the same patient/visit/encounter. the procedures were: 19371-50, 15820-59, 15822-59, 15828-59, 15877-59.

thanks in advance!!!

When billing for anesthesia, you bill all time under the code with the highest base unit value.

I see by the CPT codes that some of these procedures may be considered cosmetic. Are you filing all services with health insurance? If a non-covered service (i.e. cosmetic add on procedure) is performed during an insurance covered procedure you may need to "split bill". It is not appropriate to bill anesthesia time for a non-covered service under a covered service code.

Julie, CPC

thanks julie! really helps....and for this particular procedure...it WAS cosmetic. also, can you please clarify/explain to me what this means: "not appropriate to bill anesthesia time for a non-covered service under a covered service code"?

did you mean that for a cosmetic/non-covered procedure, i wouldn't be allowed to bill anesthesia codes for them(since anesthesia is a covered service code?):confused:

Also which codes would i use if they both have the same base value unit?

ex: 00160 and 00170 both have 5 base unit values....

thx again!

Last edited:
1)For add on cosmetic procedures -