Wiki New Patient Code

chikida

New
Best answers
I work for a physician who joined our practice recently. One of his patient whom he saw previously at his old practice was in for a new patient appointment. I am getting a denial from Medicare stating my physician has already billed for 99204 in the past 3 years. But this was at his old practice and the most recent visit was her initial visit at the new practice. Is there a way around this 3 year rule in this case since the patient is new to the practice? I am new to billing and this is the first time I have come across this.

FAQ from Medicare website

What is the definition of "new patient" for billing evaluation and management (E/M) services?