Wiki New to Spinal coding

jdibble

True Blue
Best answers
Good day!!

I am new to spinal coding and these procedures are really confusing me! So far I have come up with the following codes: 63040, 63030, 63035, 22612, 22840. I see possibly in the title 20939, 20936, and/or 20930 but I do not think I see any of this in the procedure description. Also, do these codes require RT or LT modifiers if done unilaterally?

Could someone please help me understand what I am looking at in this OP note and the correct CPT codes that they see? Also if you could explain what it is that you see or didn't see compared to the codes I have picked, that would be so helpful! (Sorry, I know this is a very long OP note).

Preoperative Diagnosis
1)Degenerative lumbar spinal stenosis
2) Post-laminectomy syndrome

Postoperative Diagnosis Same

Procedure Performed
L4-5 revision laminectomy with foraminotomy over the right L5 nerve root
L3-4 hemilaminectomy with foraminotomy over the right L4 nerve root
Right L2-3 hemilaminotomy with foraminotomy over the right L3 nerve root
L4-5 posterolateral arthrodesis
L4-5 non-segmental instrumentation
Right posterior iliac crest bone marrow aspirate
Application of autograft bone, Mozaik bone graft substitute & Accell Connexus EVO3 DBM putty with bone chips (from Integra/SeaSpine) for the L4-5 arthrodesis
Continuous intraoperative SSEP, EMG, and pedicle screw stimulation monitoring

Technique/Description of Procedure