Wiki O-codes in urgent care clinic

Best answers
Hello everyone,

I have a question regarding pregnancy ICD-10 codes and urgent care clinics. I am still new to coding, but I work for an urgent care clinic. We do not provide obstetric/maternity services; however, we do see patients that are pregnant for vaccinations, cold/flu/covid, uti and other outpatient services. The issue we are having is claims involving pregnant patients are being denied due to the O-codes. We have trained our providers to document whether the chief complaint is incidental to the pregnancy; however, this does not always happen. My question is should we be using the O-codes on claims that are not pregnancy related (such as a patient coming in for covid and flu testing)? I have been using dx code Z33.1, but my lead said that is incorrect. I appreciate any guidance and thank everyone in advance.

Hello everyone,

I have a question regarding pregnancy ICD-10 codes and urgent care clinics. I am still new to coding, but I work for an urgent care clinic. We do not provide obstetric/maternity services; however, we do see patients that are pregnant for vaccinations, cold/flu/covid, uti and other outpatient services. The issue we are having is claims involving pregnant patients are being denied due to the O-codes. We have trained our providers to document whether the chief complaint is incidental to the pregnancy; however, this does not always happen. My question is should we be using the O-codes on claims that are not pregnancy related (such as a patient coming in for covid and flu testing)? I have been using dx code Z33.1, but my lead said that is incorrect. I appreciate any guidance and thank everyone in advance.