Wiki OB Physical exam

Best answers
Good morning,

I hope what I am asking makes sense..

Our providers are asking if a comprehensive physical exam has to be documented and billed as a New OB visit or can it be in theory billed as a gynecological visit early in the pregnancy. What I have read and to my understanding is the comprehensive physical exam is to be done when the patient comes in for her initial OB appointment (OB record initiated) as the comprehensive physical exam is part of the global OB package. The confirmatory of pregnancy visit does not include a comprehensive physical exam. Our providers are thinking that the comprehensive physical exam can be done at some point around entry to obstetrical care, the rationale being that their general physical exam has been performed and a clinical pelvic exam has been performed as a baseline at entry to care.

I appreciate any feedback and thoughts about this matter.

Thank you!

Hello, I am not an expert and do not have a big experience with comprehensive physical exam but I know that Confirmation of pregnancy can be billed as a separate E/M with Z code- pregnancy positive. Confirmation of pregnancy billing was broadly discussed in this Forum. I suggest to use Search option to pull more information and we hope that our experts will respond to your question soon. I will learn too. :) Great question!

Good morning,

I hope what I am asking makes sense..