Wiki OCT testing professional component

rhotonscott

Networker
Best answers
Is there something I'm missing? I am a hospital physician coder and my ophthalmologists interpret the OCT's. We do all types of OCT scans. Can the doctor be reimbursed for his services with a modifier 26 added to the procedure code in addition to a modifier 25 added to the E/M or EYE Code for the visit? Additionally, what CPT code can I use for the OCT? There is only one CPT code 92136 for coherence biometry and occasionally the OCT testing includes IOL power calc's, but rarely. Most often the OCT scans are stand-alones without additional data, and I don't see any codes for this in the CPT book. I feel my doctors should get reimbursed for these interps, they require expertise and time!

Is there something I'm missing? I am a hospital physician coder and my ophthalmologists interpret the OCT's. We do all types of OCT scans. Can the doctor be reimbursed for his services with a modifier 26 added to the procedure code in addition to a modifier 25 added to the E/M or EYE Code for the visit? Additionally, what CPT code can I use for the OCT? There is only one CPT code 92136 for coherence biometry and occasionally the OCT testing includes IOL power calc's, but rarely. Most often the OCT scans are stand-alones without additional data, and I don't see any codes for this in the CPT book. I feel my doctors should get reimbursed for these interps, they require expertise and time!

I don't know what you mean by "hospital physician coder" but if you are like I am, I code for hospital based physicians (providers). OK....if we're in the same boat.....