Wiki Office Visits with Z01.419

ELBrock

Networker
Best answers
Hello! I am a new OB coder, and was hoping to receive some clarification. Can the "Encounter for gyn exam (general) (routine) with/without abnormal findings" diagnosis codes be used for a regular office visit, or are those codes reserved for the Annual Exam? I had a situation where a new patient came in for a complaint, and the provider did a full exam/counseling as I would normally see on an annual visit. The provider used a 99204 code with the Z01.419 diagnosis. I queried the provider asking if it should be a preventive visit code instead, according to the documentation, and he responded that he uses the gyn exam dx whenever he does a pelvic exam.
**For Context** the complaint was heavy menstrual bleeding, which led to the pelvic exam. In addition to pelvic exam, the provider documented other body areas/organ systems reviewed, and also counseled on contraceptive methods and diet/nutrition, etc.
So I'm wondering if: 1) can the annual preventative visit CPT code only be used if the provider designates the visit as an annual exam, and 2) can the gyn exam dx be used whenever there is a pelvic exam.
Thank you!

Hello Elyse,

I do not code OB but I am familiar with E/Ms so I hope others chime in to add additional support. I would not use a preventative visit CPT as this was truly not a preventative visit and the pt in fact made the appointment and was seen for a true compliant. Your situation from what I understood is different than if the patient would have arrived for a preventative visit and an abnormality is found which requires attention allowing for both an office e/m and preventative visit to be billed or if the pt came in for a preventative visit with an abnormality is found which is minor, doesnt require attention and only the preventative is captured; check out page 37 in 2020 CPT for the full text to distinguish the scenarios.