Wiki On the job: Code From Books or Software?

cathib

Best answers
Hi all,

I'm a coding student and am planning to take the CPC exam this summer. I have a question for experienced/employed coders. Do any of you code from the books, or do most employers rely exclusively on coding software like Encoder Pro (or others) these days?

Thanks!

Hi all,

I'm a coding student and am planning to take the CPC exam this summer. I have a question for experienced/employed coders. Do any of you code from the books, or do most employers rely exclusively on coding software like Encoder Pro (or others) these days?

Thanks!

I am a physician coder for an IM practice and we use our books, no coding software.

I work for a physician practice (multi-specialty). We have coding software that's really a time-saver. However, it's ALWAYS a good idea to have your coding books available to cross-reference. As nice as the software is, sometimes the paths you're led down aren't really the paths you want. Also, if you need to take a coding examination and you're totally dependent on the software, you're really at a disadvantage. It's important, as coders, to be able to maneuver your way around the coding books.

I agree with you, software may be nice and sometimes helps to move things along quicker... but you really need to stay proficient at diving into the code books ;)

I use both my coding books and a online program. I code from my books more than using the program online. I use the online program for looking up RVU information, CCI Edits and to appeal claims. I have always prefered my books first since that is how I learned to code. When I started coding there were not any online coding programs.

Books v. Encoders...