Wiki Opinions, please, on how to proceed.

Best answers
Hi,

I have 14 years of ER coding experience on the profee side. Within that time frame, I have 6 years of ER facility experience. I have worked in the office and remotely. I am not an all around outpatient coder, I have some OP experience. A little bit of auditing experience. CPC only. I have been out of work for 3 years due to taking care of someone. The last 3 jobs resulted in unemployment respectively due to downsizing, outsourcing and the COVID pandemic. It makes me apprehensive to step back into coding, even on a part time basis. I do not relish the boat possibly capsizing again. My productivity, accuracy, reviews and audits have always been positive. I am now on disability and am limited in how much income I can earn per month. I will not be able to go back to working full time.

1. Will employers be receptive to someone that has been out of the coding arena for the last 3 years? I know I will need to study intensively to get caught up on the latest procedures, coding rules etc.
2. I believe my chances of being hired will be better if I gain additional certification. CEDC is obvious. What else do you suggest?
3. Will employers hire on a part time basis and be willing to stay under the income requirement?
4. Should I include the unemployment time periods on the resume which forces it into 2 pages?
5. How do I capture my experience on one page? I have had issues in the past with potential employers not liking that my experience was not laid out in the functional format resume but to do a chronological resume with detailed duties would be 2 to 3 pages long minimum.