Wiki organ system vs. body area

Best answers
Hi, I am studying for my CEMC certification. I am struggling with Organ System vs. Body Area. I seem to pick the wrong one when the dictation regards abdomen or neck.

Here is my thought. Neck is a body area when examined for structure, it is a organ stystem (lymph) when examined for nodes etc. I am confused still on the abdomen and the head.

Can you help me?? I test tomorrow

Thank you

You have to consider what their finding is. If they say something like "Abdomen: Normal Bowel Sounds" that is a gastrointestinal finding, so feel free to count it as such. Just because they labeled it "Abdomen" instead of "GI" doesn't mean you as a coder are forced to count it as a body area instead of an organ system.

Still confused

Thanks Mike for replying. So when the documentation say neck, supple....this is a BA?? But if the documentation says Neck no nodules this is a OS? Your help is much appreciated.

Well when the physician says "Neck: Supple" they are assessing the fact that the neck bends easily. A stiff neck could be a sign of meningitis. "Neck: No lymphadenopathy" is an assessment of the patient's lymph nodes. If they mention BOTH of those things, they have 2 organ systems, so be sure to give credit!

Here's a few common findings for the neck, and the related organ system

Musculoskeletal- neck, full range of motion
Cardiovascular- neck, no jugular venous distention
Lymphatic- neck, no adenopathy
Neurological- neck, no stiffness or pain (meningitis)

Well when the physician says "Neck: Supple" they are assessing the fact that the neck bends easily. A stiff neck could be a sign of meningitis. "Neck: No lymphadenopathy" is an assessment of the patient's lymph nodes. If they mention BOTH of those things, they have 2 organ systems, so be sure to give credit!

Here's a few common findings for the neck, and the related organ system

Musculoskeletal- neck, full range of motion
Cardiovascular- neck, no jugular venous distention