Wiki Overpayment Request for dos over a year ago.

drakena74

Guru
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
I work as a biller for an ASC in Southern California. August of 2012 we started getting overpayment requests from out of state insurances asking for money back. We originally couldn't get a lot out of the insurance companies because we were out of network, we had to go through our local, Anthem Blue Cross, to find out what's going on. End of August I was finally able to get an answer; "New cost ratios have been updated for non-par ASCs" by Anthem Blue Cross of CA. When they updated the cost ratio it effected claims dated back to 2011 (over a year ago) and we are still getting overpmt requests. I did speak with a rep @ BCBS of Ill and she stated that in their system there was a note to check in to this. The BCBS rep was able to speak with a IT tech @ Anthem Blue Cross of CA, and he stated that it was a system glitch and didn't know when it would be fixed.

We did go back and file 2nd level appeals with this information, but it didn't help at all they still denied them. We did try to speak with a lawyer, but he wasn't much help either.

Please help, how far back can insurance in CA go back to recoup overpayments? This whole thing doesn't sound right to me, but not sure what the next step is. Can any one help? for CA claims, If Anthem dictates to out of state BCBS ins what they need to pay, do we have to go by recoupment law in that state or does it still fall under CA jurisdication? Any thought? :confused::confused::confused:

Hi Jennifer -- there are other ways to fight these kinds of denials... here is a free report by a friend of mine who is a lawyer...

This is from the introduction:

"One of the things I have seen time and again is how so many providers are burdened
with some misconceptions about fighting back, fighting to get paid right when they file a
claim, and fighting to keep their payments when they are later denied and the payor