Wiki Prescription management

Best answers
I am a new coder and I have some charts where the physician states medication reconciliation was performed. Does this count as the physician ordering a prescription for the E&M calculator?

Doesn't that just mean that the physician reviewed the patients medications with them, not whether or not to continue/discontinue/change the medication? I would need more documentation than that, but just based off of what you have here, I would say no, it is not prescription management.

If the provider is simply reconciling the medication list, that is NOT prescription drug management. Key word "management". Listing prescriptions without evaluation of the problem is not managing the medication. Several MACs gave guidance on this:
NORIDIAN: Q7. Please explain further "prescription drug management."A7. Prescription drug management does not require a new drug, a new dosage, or a discontinuation of a current prescription. The medical record will show the physician work to determine the medical necessity of the prescription drugs. An encounter documented as only a prescription refill without documentation of a problem addressed would not suffice. The AMA defines a problem addressed in part as "A problem is addressed or managed when it is evaluated or treated at the encounter by the physician or other qualified health care professional reporting the service." You can also count prescription medications considered but not given could be patient choice, possible drug interactions, etc. Prescription drug management does not include drugs injected during the current or subsequent encounter.