Wiki Reading of MD/NP notes

Best answers
I am relatively new to the world of coding and I have a general question when reviewing provider notes.

When reading a provider note, is it okay to pull codes from the Patient Active Problems List? Usually, I will look through the HPI and the A&P sections to determine which codes I need for each resident that is being admitted to the SNF from the hospital. In some cases, the active problems are not listed in either the HPI or the A&P section but are chronic in nature.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you :)

Hi! It depends on your coding protocol at your work site. Personally, I would look into the physician or clinical provider's Physical Exam or assessment section to see what he or she documents. At my job we can add the active problem list (comorbidities or complications) to enhance whatever the patient is being currently treated for this day. Or it should be related. Some believe current ongoing conditions or chronic such as DM, COPD, Cardiac Conditions, CHKD, HTN, Hyperlipidemia, Hypothyrodism, Depression, Anemia or Arthritis should be added since it may affect the current illness in the category of synergistic risk.