Wiki Resources or advice needed ... Midwife services

debellis59

Networker
Best answers
HI Everyone:

I code for an OBGYN practice in Oregon. Last year we took on a midwife practice and they are looking at expanding their services. Although I've been doing OBGYN for over 20 years, I'm at a loss on this.

We currently have two MDs and seven midwives. The midwives will be taking on newborn services (hospital and first WCC in the office) and I'm good with how to do all that having done pediatrics for many years in my past. BUT, they are also wanting to take on lactation services. It's my understanding in Oregon they can do this, but can they bill for lactation services and it be outside the Delivery global? I know they could do it for the other OBGYNs that deliver at our hospital, but not so sure about for themselves and the OBGYN MDs in our practice. I am having no luck finding anything definitive.

They also have discussed dyad services so billing for both baby and mom with lactation issues ... dividing the time while observing both baby and Mom.

Can anyone give me direction or advice? I know all states are a bit different, but I'm thinking some of these (lactation) services may not be billable unless done for providers outside our practice.

I appreciate any help anyone can provide.

Thank you so much in advance

Hello Debellis59👼🍼