Wiki Same day surgery E/M

bksaris

Best answers
Hello, I am currently a student who is taking his advanced coding course. I am having some trouble understanding how to code for same day surgery in E/M. Would I code it under initial hospital care? Or is there a specific section for that in the E/M? Any help would be greatly appreciated to help me understand. Thank you.

Thank you so much for your help, its been a long road but I think I'm getting the hang of it.

Scheduled surgery or emergent surgery?

There are several options that need to be considered before answering your question.

#1: Is this scheduled surgery or emergent surgery?
If the decision was made to perform the surgery at a prior visit (either outpatient or inpatient), then this is a scheduled surgery. Any evaluation on the date of surgery is already covered in the surgery, and no additional E/M service is billed.

If the decision for surgery was made at this visit, Then see # 2 BELOW ...

#2) MAJOR procedure vs MINOR procedure.
If the procedure is MINOR (0-10 days global - e.g. lesion removal), then the evaluation is usually considered a part of the reimbursement for the procedure. The only difference would be if there was some E/M provided over and above the required evaluation of the condition requiring the procedure. In that case you would use a -25 modifier on the E/M service to show that it was a distinct and separate service from the procedure. You would assign a level of E/M using ONLY that documentation that is not a part of the evaluation of the condition requiring the procedure. EXAMPLE: patient comes in with a sinus infection and a cut on finger requiring repair. ONLY the part of the documentation that deal with the evaluation and management of the sinus infection would be used to determine the level of E/M service. Any exam/history/MDM related to the cut on finger would be considered part of the laceration repair.