Wiki Seeking Help with Lesion Coding....

Best answers
:( Second Post.....I originally posted this question on 10/15 looking for some guidance hoping I would gain some assistance. I was having a mental block and really could not recall at the moment what I needed to do to code this correctly, integumentary is not my area I code regularly. I have been checking back with no luck. It has received over 100 reviews but not one tip on if this is correct or not. I will be honest when I say that I have never used this forum before an thought I would give it a try. I am looking for clarification and after 100 reviews, not even one person can jump out there and say yes, no, your way off base, I have no clue......I guess I should be glad it was not an urgent matter I was trying to confirm this information for.
Sincerely disheartened.
Karen Mooney

Modifier 51 with Excision of Lesions??
Need some clarification. I am drawing a complete blank and have already had a full pot of coffee which has not done the trick.

For some reason I cannot remember if I do or do not attach 51 modifier to the multiple lesion codes when reporting lesions. I know that the first code for each classification would be a stand alone (malignant, benign) but what about the following codes?

Example: 11624, 11404, 11403

I am wanting to report this as 11624, 11404, 11403-51

Would I only need the 51 modifier on the 11403 because it is within the same main code description as 11404? or do I need to attach the 51 modifier to the 11404 as well? My brain is just not firing this morning so any assistance that you could provide would be greatly appreciated. The paragraphical information in the CPT does not state, the descriptors do not state......

If a biospy is done you do need to code modifier 59/51 depending if it is not the primary code for example 12031 is primary so 11401 needs a -51 and the biospy can get a modifier.