Wiki Should there be a Designated Certification for a Specialty Pathology Coder?

Do you think that there should be a special certification dedicated to the Pathology specialty?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

danachock

Expert
Best answers
This is my first time doing a poll so I am hopeful that I am doing this correctly.

Hi, I became a coder back in 2012. I was hired to code anesthesia also in 2013 and was expected to receive the CANPC certification. Which I did.
There was no designation for my first specialty which is pathology, so I opted to take the CHONC certification and passed. It was not ideal. Why would I need to code chemotherapy, when I am simply reviewing pathology accessions for both CPT and diagnosis assignments??
I would not only like the opportunity to receive such certification as described, but also be allowed to take an exam to deem me capable of being an instructor in this very specific specialty "pathology".

There's a place on the AAPC website to express interest in a specialty credential not currently offered.

For those of you who are interested in a pathology or any other specialty credential, I'd encourage you to fill out the form. I suspect that level of interest is a factor for AAPC in deciding whether to develop a specialty credential.

(I'm not involved at all with credential development, so I can't officially speak for AAPC staff or the NAB on that subject. But it seems logical that member interest level would be a factor, right?)

The survey link can be found under the list of specialty credentials at the link below. "Don't see your specialty? Tell us." - the Tell Us is a hyperlink to a Survey Monkey form.

I see that pathology/laboratory is one of the prepopulated options on the survey form, so it looks like it may at least be on the radar.