Question Standard IOL with Hydrus Micro stent

19tammy75

New
Best answers
I have a glaucoma surgeon in my practice and a year ago we were advised to bill out this procedure as a Cataract removal CPT 66984 with CPT 65820 for the Hydrus Micro stent. I know did not seem correct since the Cpt Code 65820 is for a Goniotomy but had a Rep get this stuck in my providers head. Now I am told that I need to change my CPT Codes to just CPT Code 66991 IOL W/I STENT can anyone help out on this subject so I can stop getting questioned by the insurance companies about this change and make sure I am Billing this out correctly.

Hello,
I am not an expert in this specialty but my coworker and I code such procedures as 66991/89- combo. We used to code it as 66984/82 and iStent 0191T but then they combined these 2 codes into 66991- simple phaco or 66989 for complex phaco w/iStent. I am not much of a help but you can read the description of this code and it does match with procedures done. Also, there was a question about this in this forum, try to search 66991 cpt etc and you will pull out more information.

I don't know. Here is what i found in my notes: 0191T- Insertion of Hydrus trabecular bypass stent left eye (if that's what you mean). this code was deleted and now combined with phaco cataract procedures. In optum, i found 0671T-Insertion of anterior segment aqueous drainage device into the trabecular meshwork, without external reservoir, and without concomitant cataract removal, one or more- still a valid CPT.