Wiki Student in need of help!!!!

9lambs

Best answers
Hello everyone, I am a student in need of help. I have a question. Although I am a student I also am externing at a doctors office :) In class we did not learn exactly which insurances use modifiers. I want to cry because I do know that medicare doesnt use certain modifiers, while medi-cal does. But for PPO insurances such as Prudent buyer, bxbs, etc who does? I have a patient aged 10 who has taken the hpv and flu shots, do I use the modifier sl for this? I really like externing but I am also lost, is there a listing of some sort or rather a cheat sheet that can help me. Also how do I go about correcting medicare denials, these were made before I started but the manager wants me to correct them. This is also something I did not learn in class.

Maybe I need to re-nroll in a different school :(:confused:

thank you very much

modifier help

I just recieved an advertisement from Medicalcodingshop.com about webinars they are offering for the proper use of modifiers - this might save you from having to re-enroll in an entirely different program. If you want to email me directly (my email address is below in my signature line), I will forward the article to you - I tried to copy and paste it here but then the links didn't work.

Good luck!

Medicare denials

I found that when I started, they threw me in denials (before I was certified and just starting) and that was the best thing that happened to me. You learn as you go from your mistakes, as well as others. They are very helpful to tell you what is wrong with your claim, not so much as to how to fix it but they will point you to their policies that you can find your answer. More and more insurance companies are turning to CMS/WPS for guidelines that I believe they all will end up following these guidelines. Good luck and remember, each day you will leave smarter than you came :)