Wiki Training for Radiation Oncology

denisek1028

Networker
Best answers
Hello,

I am an experienced coder and have been given the task of researching coding for Radiation Oncology as we are taking on a new group in a few months. Can anyone guide me on what resources/references we need to purchase and what kind of training/education I will need.

Thank you!

We use Coding Strategies CSI Navigator For Radiation Oncology. Also, it would be good to have someone attend one of Dr. Bogardus' BMsi Seminars. During the seminar Dr. Bogardus goes thru each & every code that is used in Radiation Oncology billing - what it is & how it is billed. There is also a Radiation Oncology Certified Coder certification thru AMAC.

Elizabeth Phillips, CPC, ROCC
University of AZ Health Network
UAMC University Campus
Outpatient Coder Radiation Oncology

I am a Radiation Onc. coder and was trained from Revenue Cycle Inc. It was a great learning experince and the CEU's are always helpful!

ASTRO/ACR has a "Guide to Radiation Oncology Coding." The book is available for purchase or you can purchase just online access. I have been coding for Radiation Oncology for 9 years and this book has been a great asset!

Specialty Certification for Radiation Oncology

I would love to see AAPC offer a specialty certification for Radiation Oncology. This is an ever changing specialty that takes specialty knowledge.
We are strongly encouraging our billers in our hematology/oncology practice to become certified. The excuse I hear from my radiation biller and coder is that the certifications that are available are not for their specialty. I keep plugging the need for this specialty whenever I get the chance.

Rhonda Crouch, CHONC