Wiki Transarterial Chemoembolization

Best answers
I am fairly new to coding for interventional radiology, and I'm struggling with this specific case for the professional coding.

I am struggling with whether or not it is appropriate to bill for the angiographies(75726/ add-on 75774) that were performed during the procedure. The provider wanted to bill for 6 times, but did not know it had an MUE of 3. In my review of his documentation I suggested to bill 75726 only for the celiac artery with a modifier because it is a column 2 CPT for 37243 which was performed on the segment 2 artery. CPT 37243 is inclusive of all radiological supervision and interpretation, intraprocedural roadmapping, and imaging guidance necessary to complete the intervention; therefore, I did not justify billing cpt 75726 for the hepatic, seg 4B, seg 4A, seg 3, and seg 2 arteries.

I was further advised that 75726 is billable only if there was not a prior angiography performed, and there was not.

So, can someone please advise me on the following..:
  1. Is the selection of codes 37243, 36247 x2, 36248 x4, 76937 correct?
  2. Should I bill for the angiography/how many times? Really need help understanding this piece..

Procedures:
1) Selective visceral arteriography
2) Transarterial chemoembolization

Contrast: 75 mL Isovue intraarterial
Fluoroscopy time: 79.5 minutes pulsed

Medications: Please refer to anesthesia record for medications administered case

Indication: Hepatocellular carcinoma

Procedure: Using real time ultrasound guidance the right common femoral artery was accessed with a micropuncture set. Over a wire this was upsized to a long 6-French sheath positioned in the abdominal aorta. Through this access, selective catheterization of the celiac artery was performed followed diagnostic angiography. Based on these results, selective catheterization of the left hepatic artery was then performed using a micro catheter and wire and further diagnostic arteriography carried out.