Wiki trial stimulator vs placement of permanent stimulator

astephens

Guru
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
I am new to the auditing field and I came across a note where the physician inserted a trial spinal cord stimulator, it was coded as 95971/77003 the patient came back 3 days later and had a f/u which was coded as 99215, then the pre-op note and ultimately i will see the charges for the actual implant.
i am totally confused as i was used to see only the placement 63650 with L8680 x2 not L8680 X16 and now i can't wait to see how are they going to charge for the actual placement
any good thoughts or references out there? I was coding for ASC

Following the placement of a percutaneous SCS trial array/lead, the post op period would include 10 day period in which visits that could include removal of the array/lead, feedback from the patient of possible decrease in the pain level ("I feel better; my pain went from a 9 to a 5") or possible adverse response to having the temporary implanted lead ("I having an unfavorable response; I would like it removed")
As seen in this link below under payment policy indicators for 63650 (global period 10)
https://www.cms.gov/apps/physician-fee-schedule/search/search-criteria.aspx

Below on page 49, modifier 24 would have to be reviewed for unrelated E/M encounter during the post op period.

https://www.cms.gov/manuals/downloads/clm104c12.pdf

30.6.6 - Payment for Evaluation and Management Services Provided During Global Period of Surgery

In the April 2011 CPT Assistant, it is questioned whether 95971/95972 can be reported for temporary leads that have been attached to an external pulse generator. The AMA response was: