Wiki Wound Care Billing/Coding

I'm no expert....but I just started billing on the side for Infectious Disease Dr. for wound care.

If patient was seen inpatient you would not bill for supplies, just the hospital visit, and anything else like debridement etc. Location code 21

In the office you can bill for the supplies with some of the insurance companies. Location code 11

Facility outpatient would follow as the same as hospital.... location code 22

Here is an example what my provider codes 99213 wih a 25 modifier and 97597. Don't know if that answers your question or not. Good Luck. If your provider is a member of one the speciality organizations, you can call them for questions, and they will help you.

Jenny

One thing that I try to remember: for each procedure where and LCD exists in states where the part A and part B sides are not the same MAC, that different diagnosis codes will be accepted for different procedures. i.e. 459.81 might be payable for an allograft under part A but not under part B. Ultimately this issue should go away once all the MACs are awarded but I have seen part A claims get paid and part B claims be denied for this reason on the same procedure.

Hope that helps!
Jacqui

First and foremost, educate yourself on the difference between Selective Debridement (97597-97598) and Excisional Debridement (11040-11044). Also, be careful when using the modifier -25. Make sure the debridement wasn't planned a head of time before using a f/u cpt code. The patients condition must require an E/M service "above and beyond" that of the procedure, that is significant and seperately identifiable. One more thing, if the doctor evaluates a patient post operatively at the wcc.... still a global situation.