Wiki Coding DX from path report

smack

Best answers
I work as a consultant - we have a discussion going on as to if you can code from a path report or not.

Example: BX is done (11100) the office codes 238.2. Upon auditing the record I have the path report and it shows SCC.

I say that the SCC should be coded as the information is available and the office should have coded it.

I did also refer to the CMS info found in this:
http://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Transmittals/downloads/ab01144.pdf

Any information would be helpful!!
Thanks!

We code from the path. Provider does the biopsy and puts the 239.2 for the dx and we wait until the path comes back before we release the claim. They should not be applying 238.2 to the claim. This is used by pathology for neoplasm of uncertain behavior of skin.

:)

I work as a consultant - we have a discussion going on as to if you can code from a path report or not.

Example: BX is done (11100) the office codes 238.2. Upon auditing the record I have the path report and it shows SCC.

I say that the SCC should be coded as the information is available and the office should have coded it.

I did also refer to the CMS info found in this:
http://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Guidance/Transmittals/downloads/ab01144.pdf

Any information would be helpful!!
Thanks!

Our sites "hold" those types of claims (biopsies, excisions etc)... specificially to wait for the path report.

first the orginal code of 238.- is incorrect as that code can only be assigned based on path report. second for a biopsy you can code without the path report but you can only use a 709.- code not a neoplasm code.
third a coder is allowed to code from a path report if coding outpatient or physician since the pathologist is a physician. Inpatient facility coders are not allowed to code from a path report.

Please clarify this for me: