Wiki CPT codes 20553 vs. 20552 cost error?

MEbley

Best answers
Hi everyone!

I just started coding a few months ago and I have a question pertaining to CPT codes. I’m coding trigger point injections for a pain management practice, and the 20552 code comes up as $650, while the 20553 code comes up as $250. Doesn’t this seem backwards? Why would less work cost more than twice as much? Is this an error in the fee schedule, or is this normal? I can’t seem to get reasoning from anyone on this. I’m just told, “we don’t know, it’s always been like that.” Is it possible this is an error I should bring to my leaderships attention, or is this truly the case that 20552 is more expensive than 20553? Thanks so much!

That is something that is specific to the practice you are working for. Every private physician practice chooses how much they want to charge for their services and those rates are entered into their system. They don’t come from an outside source, although many practices will base their rates as a percentage above what Medicare allows.

I agree with you that the rates don’t make sense. Also they seem very high for these services. I would expect 20552 to be around $150 rather than $650. Perhaps an error was made when the fee schedule was created and no one has ever gone back to correct or update the fees.

Most practices will review and update fees annually, when the new codes are released and need to be put into the system. Who is in charge of maintaining codes and fees in your practice’s system? You should bring this to their attention.

These are the numbers that come up when I’m billing in-office procedures for our physicians. I enter the codes based on the office procedure that’s performed, and these are the billing dollar amounts that auto-fill for the procedures.

Here are two examples to illustrate my confusion: