Wiki First pregnancy c section

Best answers
Hello,
I am new to coding and am being asked by the medical director if there is coding for a first time pregnancy c section or a cesarean section performed on a woman with no prior deliveries.
I have been searching and not able to come up with that particular scenario.

Can anyone help me out with what the proper coding for that would be?

Greatly appreciated

What are you looking to code? The procedure? The diagnosis? Physician? Facility?
For example, if you are looking for the procedure code for the physician performing a C-section delivery only (no ante or post partum), 59514.
The diagnosis code (assuming normal first pregnancy), would be Z34.0_ filling in the last digit with the trimester.
Additional information about what the medical director is trying to code (or possibly looking for a code to do a data analysis) could be helpful.

Last edited:
What are you looking to code? The procedure? The diagnosis? Physician? Facility?
For example, if you are looking for the procedure code for the physician performing a C-section delivery only (no ante or post partum), 57514.
The diagnosis code (assuming normal first pregnancy), would be Z34.0_ filling in the last digit with the trimester.
Additional information about what the medical director is trying to code (or possibly looking for a code to do a data analysis) could be helpful.
Thank you! - I came up with those codes but wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything. She is developing a measure for first time c sections, so it would be data analysis.

For data analysis, you would certainly need to use more than just that 1 CPT and dx. For example, the physician might be providing the entire ob global package, so billing 59510. It might be a first time C-section, but not a first time pregnancy, so different dx code. Might be a high risk pregnancy, etc.