Wiki Humana denying 77427 as bundled

Tazcheetarah

Contributor
Best answers
I have been fighting with Humana for a couple months now as they are denying several of our 77427 as bundled although there are no CCI edits on the claim. We did not have this problem previously, it just started a couple months ago and we are billing with a date span. When I call provider services I get the run around and am basically being told that they don't know why it denied. The claims I have had sent back for manual reprocessing are being paid but I still have new denials coming it. If I try to appeal they deny my appeal. Has anyone else had this issue? It is happening in multiple practices for us.

I have been fighting with Humana for a couple months now as they are denying several of our 77427 as bundled although there are no CCI edits on the claim. We did not have this problem previously, it just started a couple months ago and we are billing with a date span. When I call provider services I get the run around and am basically being told that they don't know why it denied. The claims I have had sent back for manual reprocessing are being paid but I still have new denials coming it. If I try to appeal they deny my appeal. Has anyone else had this issue? It is happening in multiple practices for us.

I just had that come up last week - we don't do a lot of Humana, so it was the first time I saw it.

I'm pulling together some information to dispute it. The denial is ridiculous - they told my follow up person that if any other rad onc procedure had been billed within a certain time frame, then 77427 was not payable.

Which means they obviously don't understand what 77427 represents. Sure, the facility is billing the actual treatment code for that day, and sure the physician billed a treatment plan prior to treatment beginning. But the 77427 is how the physician gets paid during the ongoing treatment phase.

If I get anywhere with them, I will let you know.