Wiki I'm a CPC. Now what?

victoriamoll

Networker
Best answers
I'm 25 and I just recently passed the CPC exam. I've been working for over a year at a large medical group (about 40 practices) doing data entry. Most of what I do is just verifying codes on encounter forms and entering them into the computer. I'm young, and I have a lot of room to grow and a lot of time for advancement, but I just don't know what direction to head towards now!

Other than coding, I'm really handy with computers. I used to build my own computers plus I have 10 years experience working with Microsoft Office and can do everything from spreadsheets to building websites to converting old VHS tapes to DVD with custom menus. That's why I've been leaning a little towards some sort of quality improvement type position because I think I could combine my coding knowledge with my skills with computer software.

Does anyone have any suggestions? :confused:

You might want to consider an HIM (Health Information Mngmt) degree. You can get either Bachelor's or an Associates. An HIM degree will afford many opportunities, you can do Auditing or Consulting and start out at pretty decent salary. Heck, you might even want to minor in computer science or IT, then you would be rockin! :) Check it out, there are many other things that require HIM degree and pay well. YOu sound extremely smart, I am jealous you are that good with computers and here I was thinking I am computer savvy. HA! Good luck!