Wiki Mesh vs Adhesion Barrier

msmorrison603

Contributor
Best answers
Hello, I am curious if someone can explain the difference to me about mesh vs. administration of adhesion barrier.

Example: Incisional Hernia Repair

Supplement Abdominal Wall with Synthetic Substitute, open approach - 0WUF0JZ

Introduction of Adhesion Barrier into Peritoneal Cavity, open approach - 3E0M05Z

What is the difference in the mesh that is used to supplement the abdominal wall and the adhesion barrier? Can you give me an example of a brand or product name for the adhesion barrier? Is the Mesh in the supplement code also the adhesion barrier? Wouldn't that be upcoding if it is the same?

I hope I was able to convey my questions for all to understand me. Thank you for any help and explanation you can give.

Disclosure: I am not a medical professional so if someone with a stronger medical background wants to weigh it, it would be appreciated.

My understanding of adhesion barriers is that it is inserted during the surgery and then gets slowly absorbed into the body. It is present during the crucial healing period when most adhesions occur. Mesh is a permanent device that is mainly used to keep organs where you want them. There are a few CPT codes for mesh insertion, depending on the type of surgery/function. There is no code for insertion of the temporary adhesion barriers. The names you would see for them is Seprafilm or Interceed.

I hope this helps!

Hello, I am curious if someone can explain the difference to me about mesh vs. administration of adhesion barrier.

Example: Incisional Hernia Repair

Supplement Abdominal Wall with Synthetic Substitute, open approach - 0WUF0JZ

Introduction of Adhesion Barrier into Peritoneal Cavity, open approach - 3E0M05Z