Wiki Need help on STATUS INDICATORS, Please.

codiologist

Best answers
I am taking the practice exams for my COC and I don't seem to understand how I would be able to tell which status indicator goes with a particular cpt/hcpc II code.

For example one of the questions say" Which status indicator would I use for a closed treatment of a distal radial fracture (25600). Keep in mind I will only have access to my books and not the computer while taking the exam, so where could I cross reference cpt/hcpcs in my code books? Any help is appreciated.

I'm studying for the COC as well. I'm not sure what they mean by what status indicator to use for a code. Under OPPS a status indicator is assigned to each code by Medicare I believe

I would assume based on this being a surgical procedure the SI for that code under APC would be T - Significant procedure subject to multiple procedure discounting

Last edited:
Hi, Thanks for your reply. I assumed it was either status indicator S or T, so I googled it for the answer. But looking it up on the internet will not help me in the actual exam, since that isn't allowed. This has been the 2nd question in the practice exams about asking what status indicators I would choose for a specific cpt...

Thanks again for any help.

When Inwas working in outpatient facility, the procedures in the range 10000-69999 were all status S.. Everything else was a T with a few exceptions for some of the radiology like CT and MRI and a few interventional radiology. There was a Medicare release at that time that stated this and it made it so much easier.

If i could only use findacode on the exam. I looked it up afterwards and its a T. I just assumed since it would be reduced under MPFS that the same reduction would apply to the facility. I thought maybe S were add-on codes but those are N as they roll up into the APC of the primary procedure. So back to the drawing board for me due to that finding.