Wiki Newborn/suspect Sepsis

mmunoz21

Networker
Best answers
Hello everyone,

I see professional and hospital claims, I know in the professional side we do not code "suspected or rule out", . I came accross a couple of claims, where the DX used 771.81, then 2-days later lab work shows no Sepsis, but the facility keeps the 771.81 DX. Has anyone seen this before and is this acceptable?

Good question!

I am currently trying to get a career start as an inpatient coder, so it will be interesting to hear the answer.

Hi, I'm not a facility coder expert... but I know a little bit.:)

Go to google and type in Official ICD9 guidelines, it's a great reference to have.

They specifically state for short term, long term and acute care facilities, you can code the rule out condition at the time of discharge if no definitive diagnosis has been made.

Hope that helps....:)

Hi, I'm not a facility coder expert... but I know a little bit.:)

Go to google and type in Official ICD9 guidelines, it's a great reference to have.

They specifically state for short term, long term and acute care facilities, you can code the rule out condition at the time of discharge if no definitive diagnosis has been made.

Hope that helps....:)