Wiki Psychiatry initial in office consultation

kgittemeier

Best answers
I am new to Psychiatry billing, I have a seasoned Psychiatrist who keeps telling me he has only been billing 90792 for his initial 90min in office consultation. I do not think that is right and am wondering why I am not also billing a 99205. I am guessing at his previous practice his coders were correcting his coding before sending it out the door. Any help I can get will be appreciated.

His 1 hour follow ups I am billing a 99214 with 90838 which is a higher bill than the initial intake/consult.

The provider is billing correctly. You shouldn't bill something a certain way just because it pays more. E&M w/ Psychotherapy should not be performed on the initial visit. First visit is 90791 or 90792 and per the CPT instructions you cannot bill and E&M or psychotherapy code on the same day as the intake.

How are you selecting your E&M level? What makes you think 99205 is appropriate over a 99201-99204? I'm just trying to make sure you are not picking codes based off time or more money as your criteria.

Last edited: