Wiki Stay or Find Something Else?

Best answers
Hi There,

Okay I've been working as an Emergency Medicine Coder for about 7 months now. Here's what I've learned and what I'd like to ask:

Being in emergency medicine is both rewarding and challenging at the same time. Learning to use the MDM Grid and determining what your E/M level is what I particularly enjoy. There's also multiple procedures / specialty CPT codes you get used to, like EKGs, X-Rays, laceration repairs, fracture care/orthopedic, and other miscellaneous things & the like. It's all centered around ED visits. Physician-based, not hospital.

Now having said that, I do feel like I've built up some knowledge (not all) about how to do this job & what I particularly like.

However what I find challenging is knowing that I'm 7 months in, and more recently I haven't been passing my L2 Corporate Audits. 95% accuracy is the standard for this job. I always seem to be 1 off from reaching that.

The CPH standard is 36.

So from production & quality standpoint, I'm thinking thats about average.

Whats weird is I did great in training, I was released as a regular Coder in the allotted time-frame of 16 weeks, and I was at 95-96% and at full production, but now here I am back at square 1, thinking maybe I made a mistake?

Is it time to find another job? Maybe one that'd be easier than having to keep track of all the things we have in this job? There's so many I can't list them all. APCs, TOCs, all the policies, payer rules, and then updates of course.

But again I'm thinking all of that goes into this job is normal. Its what is expected.

But now I'm thinking what if I try finding a coding job that just focuses on 1 set of codes? Off the top of my head I think RISK Adjustment/HCC, or Anesthesiology.

Something that we could say would be "easier" when it comes to coding.

And if so who here can say that their job in Coding is easy? Lol